Picture
First Grade 6 jumping win
Saturday 4th May - my first run was the Olympia Qualifier, an agility run. I wasn't sure whether Dylan would concentrate or not. He did and we did a solid clear round, but I knew it was slow. Time was 34.995s. The fastest time was 28.... seconds, so well behind. I was happy with his contacts. I think I gave him the "find feet" command too early on the dog walk, but better to get it that not at all. We probably lost several seconds there.

His weaves are becoming reasonably independent as long as I am running in that straight line. I was able to be ahead of him which made the following fence much easier and I was in the right place. The course was an easy run and there were lots of clears.

Picture
Olympia Qualifier Agility Course Sat 4th May 2013
Picture
Combined 6-7 Agility Sat 4th May 2013
Picture
Graded 6/7 Jumping Sat 4th May 2013
The combined 6-7 agility run was good except for my mistake on the fence 8 to 9 pull in, where Dylan back jumped fence 9. Dylan had a great "feet" on the dog walk which was quicker than the earlier run. Fences 16 to 17 I took Dylan round the left wing of 17 making the seesaw tempting, but no problems at all. Some folks took their dogs between 15 & 14 to do 17, but I decided that was too risky for Dylan. It was a fast run despite being E-ed.

The graded jumping run was fabulous, except for me getting in Dylan's way in front of fence 7. Apparently I slipped slightly sideways, Dylan looked up and then at the fence which he proceeded to take out! Otherwise a super run, fast. So useful to be able to be ahead on the weaves, made fence 5 easy.


Dylan's final run, another agility was clearly one run too many, as he decided not to bother and went off sniffing. So other than a good contact on the dog walk the rest was pants and I walked out with a dog who was only interested in sniffing! I suppose the spaniel had to come out sometime!

Picture
Graded 6/7 Jumping Sunday 5th May 2013
Sunday 5th May 2013 was an eventful day. It started with a Graded 6/7 jumping which was so hard. The judge told in no uncertain terms that her grade 4/5 large dogs could manage it so we should have no problem ... see left. I knew that it would be a frustrating course for Dylan because I would have to get to places before telling what to do next.
I took him round the back of the weaves rather than through the middle and he nearly went in the tunnel, but a loud "DYLAN" called him back and into the weaves. We also nearly went wrong 17 to 18 as a pull in was needed, Dylan was frustrated and bit me, but at least he had stopped and I could pull him round to 18 and onto the finish!. Not the neatest (some of the grade 7 dogs were amazing), but 1.5seconds faster than any other grade 6 dogs in a time of 40.327s

My next run after a long wait was the Jewlnick Pairs, which I ran with Sian Mapp & Ollie. We were both eliminated, but had fun. My last two runs were right at the end of the day. His agility run wasn't bad with some great pull ins where necessary, but confusion coming off the A frame and into a tunnel placed underneath meant we were eliminated. Dylan's last run, a combined 6-7 agility went pear shaped with him wandering off sniffing. I grabbed his collar and headed to the last jump!

So a fabulous weekend, with some great first runs. Dylan was brilliant and I still need to practice being faster for him and being very clear on instructions so he stays focussed.


Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.