Picture
We headed up to the showground for the Nottingham Show on Saturday morning. No run first thing so we had time to set off at a reasonable hour. The night before had been raining heavily and so windy, but Saturday was a beautifully sunny day and eventually very warm. Luke came too and we set up camp. Luke was great and helped video lots of my runs and took some good shots of Dylan too.
First run on Saturday was the Crufts Medium Qualifier. Similar to the jumping win we had a few weeks ago the course had been set with 2 sets of 6 weaves in parallel. Last time I went around the outside, but this time I thought I would go up the middle since the second set should not be visible to Dylan from the angle he comes over the previous jump. This worked really well and in fact the rest of the course ran well except I nearly pulled him off jump 16. No faults for that though as he hopped over from a stand still. We got round well, with 5 faults on the A frame contact, which was my fault as I rushed to the next jump a tad too early.

Picture
Crufts Qualifier: 5 faults for A frame contact
This video shows the beginning of my run - thanks to Luke for holding the camera.
Next run was a combined grade 6,7 agility run. Having walked the course my worry was the beginning and round to long jump from jump 8 & 9. My start unfortunately happened the way I thought it would, with Dylan heading to the DW from jump 1, touching the DW and then coming to me at the wall. Woops! I realise now that I need to keep my eye on him at all times & teach him to come to my hand! The rest of the course ran really well. so was really pleased with Dylan. Luke managed to video the middle part to the end as he worked out how the camera worked - thank you.
Our third run of the day was graded 6,7 jumping, with some tricky bits where I ended up twiddling because I am not quick enough. However Dylan helped me out and we won Grade 6 in a time of 39.070sec. Very happy with his run which Luke managed to video the whole of (he has the hang of the camera now :-)) See Below:
The day finished well with just little mistakes from me mostly. Dylan runs well and quickly and is definitely challenging for the grade 6 wins with his time, when his handler gets it right! A steep learning curve for me I think.
Camping at the show ground here was lovely even though the grass was long. Dylan & Joe had a perfect garden on long grass to roll in, couple of soil areas to dig and roll in - perfect. As the sun set I was able to capture the following picture.
Picture
CG 6-7 Agility
Picture
Graded 6, 7 Jumping
Picture
Joe lying in the long grass
Picture
Dylan shattered after his runs!

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.