PictureC6-7 Agility - pinged the DW but Layering worked!
It was hot hot hot today, which for a black dog is not ideal. However I felt chilled and really enjoyed today.

We had four runs starting with C6-7 Agility designed by Kim Taylor with 76 dogs running. We got an elimination because Dylan pinged the DW contact sideways and I put him back on! The rest of the run was fab though.

I tried layering jump 9 when doing 7 to 8 and again at 12, 13, 14. Dylan gave me a look but I kept my hand out and ran level with him and gave him loads of praise. I haven't tried this before so I was very pleased with him.

PictureC4-7 Jumping: Best run of the day Clear 32.56s
Best run was the jumping and we just missed the places with a time of 32.56s, so 16th I think. I tried the "grab hands" technique at 8 and 9 drawing a tighter turn for Dylan which seemed to work. From 10 I put in a turn down to 11 and 12 so I could fit in another turn between 13 and 14 (tight I know, but I managed). I needed to be quicker and more decisive as Dylan twiddled between 14 & 15, but took 16 flicking right (again I needed to be more decisive there too as we had a little twiddle).

Very pleased to have tried a new technique successfully, but it still requires so much brain power!!

PictureC1-7 ABC Crufts Agility Q - 5 faults!
Nice course, flowed well. I slipped at jump 2, pulling my bum muscle (ouch!). Dylan was a bit concerned after that and kept looking at me, so I encouraged and praised all the way around, but took the wrong side on 10, keeping Dylan on my left instead of doing a blind turn, so he shot past 11.

Really happy with the run though, except my bottom now hurts!! (Thanks to Samantha for the pain killers later - oh and well down for a great (was it 5th) place in this qualifier ... Jenson could be going to Crufts at this rate!)

PictureC1-7 Helter Skelter - what fun - but too hot for Dylan!
Last run of the day for me was the Helter Skelter. I was expecting Dylan to fly round, but the heat had clearly got to him because I had to slow right down! So despite my bum hurting I did encourage Dylan round to a slow time of 29.918s, which actually was 17th out of 118 dogs, so not too bad!

Tried a hand grab from 9 to the tunnel, but it didn't work, just confused Dylan as I suppose my body had turned, an arm out would have been fine!, Lovely exit from the tunnel to 11 and super snake, no time lost there!

All in all a lovely day. Samantha's company was lovely, as was Rachel (several rosettes for her and Obi) and Tania too. Also saw some lovely runs from my club members :-)  I should have some video to load soon as Rachel kindly


Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.